Colouring Book Reviews · Twilight Garden by Maria Trolle

Twilight Garden by Maria Trolle

img_3518.jpg

 

  • Format: Hardcover
  • No of Pages: 96 pages
  • Publisher: Gibbs Smith
  • Release Date: 21 April 2017
  • Language: English
  • ISBN: 9781423647065
  • Size: 21.1 x 1.5 x 25.1 cm

Twilight Garden by Maria Trolle was previously released as Blomster Mandala in Sweden. It is a hardback book (same size as those by Hanna Karlzon) and has been faithfully recreated in English by publisher Gibbs Smith. It has the same beautiful quality smooth creamy coloured paper as the original which is a dream to colour on in pencil. The pages are both glue and stitch bound and it is a top-quality keepsake colouring book. The illustrations are on both sides of the pages in storybook form so alcohol markers will destroy the other side and therefore are not recommended for this book). Some of the illustrations have printed black backgrounds which are lovely, and although many books now have this I think when I first saw this (in swedish) it was one of the first I had seen with this.

Like all hardback books however it is difficult to colour all the way into the centre very easily, and some of the designs do go into the spine, mostly double page spreads, but I have usually persevered with this and as I love the format and the illustrations it never bothered me too much, neither does it being double-sided as I use pencils. There are enough illustrations that dont go all the way to the centre so if this bothers you there are still plenty of illustrations to colour that don’t have this problem.

 

Maria is famous for her flower illustrations drawn from her beautiful garden which are exquisite and slightly stylised rather than fully realistic; and these are combined with whimsical cute critters (cats, deer, rabbits, frogs, squirrels, foxes,mice), insects (Butterflies, dragonflies). They really are lovely illustrations and they are not too detailed so will appeal to both experienced colourists and beginners. I highly recommend this one and it is one of my favourite books.

As you can see by all the illustrations I’ve coloured this is one of my favourite books (I also have the original Swedish version). All these are coloured with either Faber Castell Polychromos or Prismacolor Premier pencils.

Twilight Garden by Maria Trolle is available to purchase from Amazon. co.uk, Amazon. com, Book Depository and The Wordery (Both with free worldwide shipping).

I was kindly sent a copy from the publisher, however all thoughts and comments expressed are my own and not influenced by this fact.

 

 

