Colouring Book Reviews · Vive Le Color! Horses

Vive Le Color! Horses Coloring Book

e oimg_9379

 

  • Type: Paperback
  • No of Pages: 144
  • Publisher: Abrams Books
  • Release Date: 16 August 2016
  • ISBN-13: 9781419724374
  • Size: 17.1 x 1.6 x 17.1 cm

Vive le Color! Horses is a small sized book of Horse illustrations. It is the perfect size to take along on your travels and will fit comfortably into most handbags. The cover is card with horses coloured in pink and green with gold foiled lettering. Inside there is a glue-bound paper pad of easy to tear out sheets of medium / thick quality paper. This is top bound to make its small size easy to colour in. It is backed by a piece of thick board so you can easily colour with this on your lap.

 

 

The book has 72 Horse illustrations and these range from very simple outlines to ones with tiny details. Some have such tiny details you will struggle to colour them even with fine liners which is a shame as if they were just a little bit bigger they would be a lot more colourable. The small sizes of the pictures mean that most will be quick to colour. I did however find the designs repetitive. I know a book that is just Horses will only feature horses, but I felt that many of the designs were too similar. A lot I found to be overly simple, and some of the more interesting ones were unfortunately the ones with such tiny details that I found it to be a bit frustrating rather than relaxing to colour. Luckily there are enough in the mid detailed range to keep most colourists happy.

Maybe it doesn’t appeal to me much because I’m not a Horse person, but even if this had been cats (my favourites) I think I would still have been disappointed. I do however like the size and the fact that this little book is the perfect size to take on my travels. There are other books in this series so maybe I would find they are more to my taste and maybe the illustrations fit the paper size a bit better. I very much like the idea of quick to do colouring pages when travelling. Some people I’m sure will love this book – especially horse lovers. But it isn’t one for me.

img_9740

I chose to colour this picture of a horses head. I loved the way the mane flowed around the face and found this one to be rather striking. I used Stabilo Power felt tip pens and there was no hint of shadowing or bleed-through on the reverse. I did however find some of the details too tiny to colour and could only colour over them and this is by no means one of the most detailed ones in the book.

Vive Le Color! Horses is available to buy from Amazon. co.uk, Amazon. com, Book Depository and The Wordery (both with free worldwide shipping)

Leave a Reply

