Colouring Book Reviews · Well-loved Tales Cinderella

Well-loved Tales Cinderella

img_8107

 

  • No of Pages: 56 pages
  • Type: Hardback
  • Publisher: Ladybird
  • Language: English
  • Release date – 1 September
  • ISBN-13: 978-0241289501
  • Product Dimensions: 11.6 x 1 x 17.4 cm

When I was a child every week or so when I went shopping with my mum she would let me choose a book to buy from the stationers next to the supermarket. I loved books from a young age and the ones I chose were often the well-loved fairy tales printed by Ladybird books. These small pocket-sized hard-backed books were the perfect size for small hands and I remember them both being read to me and reading them myself. Cinderella was one of my favourites and I loved this version. I loved the size of the book, that the story was just the right length for a bedtime story, that in this version Cinderella gets to go to the ball on three nights and wear different dresses (I still want the second night blue dress now), and just as much as the  story I loved the illustrations. It was magical then and it still is all those years later.

I wasn’t a child who coloured in my books – I  couldn’t bear spoiling this one. Now Ladybird have brought it out again – exactly the same format, size, hard-cover, same story to read and the same illustrations; only this time the illustrations are line drawings for you to colour your own copy – and I love it!

The pages are both glued and sewn bound. The paper is bright white and quite thin – on some pages you can see the writing through on the other side. For this reason I would say to avoid using markers and stick to using pencils if you want to be able to read the story. on the left page is the text of the story and the illustrations on the right.The line-work is clean and crisp black with a light to medium line. The pictures all have just the right amount of detail to colour for the size of the page and they look exactly the same as the originals except without colour.

 

 

I wondered however if it would be difficult to colour in due to its size. I’m glad to say I did not find the size a problem and found it to be a nice change than colouring a larger picture. This is the perfect size book to fit into your handbag. Of course it is also a children’s book and I feel a slightly older child would love to colour in it as well as read it, however it has enough detail to entertain an adult colourist just as much.

I love the nostalgia of this book, and have ordered a copy of the original version to go alongside the colouring one (it is currently available to buy new just the same as when it was released in 1964). I like trying to recreate the pictures as they were originally coloured but you could colour it any colour you want. Cinderella can have a rainbow dress if you so wish. I thoroughly enjoyed colouring in it and highly recommend this book – both for the nostalgia and the fact that it is a lovely colouring book. I can definitely see myself colouring this book completely from cover to cover.

 

img_8078

I chose to colour the picture of Cinderella on the second night of the ball in her beautiful pale blue satin dress. I wanted to wear this beauty so much as a child and it is still my favourite picture now. I had to colour it the same as the original as I loved it so much and I am so pleased with the way it turned out. I used Prismacolor Premier pencils.

A Ladybird Colouring Book Well-loved Tales Cinderella is available to buy now. Amazon.co.uk, Book Depository,  and Wordery both with Free Worldwide shipping.

Well-loved tales Cinderella was kindly sent to me by Ladybird Children’s Books in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

