The Crystal Ship

The Crystal Ship

Here’s my coloured version of “The Crystal Ship” from Hanna Karlzon’s stunning colouring book Dagdrommar. It began as a competition entry for one of my Facebook groups – the brief was to colour the scene with no blue. I decided to take the title literally and have tried to recreate the look of a crystal chandelier. I used Faber-Castell Polychromos pencils, gold and silver gel pens,a clear Sakura Stardust Gelly Roll glitter gel pen and Stickles Diamond glitter glue.

038
The Full Picture

After posting it to my facebook groups I was overwhelmed by the response I received. Three people Jessica Henson, Nathan Brittany-Horst and Katy Hewlett commented that it reminded them of the Flying ship covered in Fairy dust from Peter Pan. It started me thinking and I decided to add the silhouettes and the quote.

Then the following day (talk about timing!) the set of tiny fairy stamps i had ordered on ebay showed up. I had ordered these with the intention of adding them to my copy of “The Secret Garden” by Johanna Basford. So Tinkerbell the fairy and some pixie dust was stamped to the image. Now it was finally finished! I’m so proud of the way it turned out and I think it is the best thing I’ve coloured to date.

Leave a Reply

